Health Kick Chick

Join me on my laymen's journey towards better health. Eat. Move. Rest.

* Results not typical

We’ve all seen this disclaimer on everything from late night infomercials for  potions for frizzy hair to reputable weight loss companies.  However, the FTC decided late last year that this term must be removed from advertising for products, claiming that the advertising is deceptive and does not represent the average user.  So instead of seeing representatives for the best-case scenario, we’ll now see the typical user.

This is kind of defeating for me personally because I’ve worked really hard to be a *results not typical.  Now, it’s just a turn of phrase that many find confusing or confounding but for me it was the target I aimed for from the very beginning.  Why?  Because who wants to be average?  What’s inspirational about being ordinary?

I’ve gained a tremendous amount of respect for this phrase over the past few years as I’ve struggled with getting my eating and workouts in check.  Because at the end of the day, it’s easier to quit or half-ass your effort than it is to make decisions that’ll revolutionize your life.  Sure, I could sit on my butt and watch 30 Rock and Girlfriends reruns instead of doing strength training.  And it’s easier to stop at Chipotle for a Fajita Burrito than it is to shop for nutritious foods in the supermarket.  But it’s not always the better choice.  I make the tougher decisions that’ll get me closer to my goals.  Sometimes I succeed, others not so much.

But at the end of the day, I sure know that if I started any weight loss program at this point in time, seeing someone struggling on their journey also would not be motivating to me.  At all.  Give me the story about the guy who juggles a full-time job, taking care of his family, working and volunteering who carves out time to pack a lunch the night before and go to the gym at 5 am to get it in.  That, ladies and gentlemen is what we all tune in for, no?  I mean, would a show like the Biggest Loser even get any traction if everyone struggled and made little or no headway for 12 weeks?

Because that’s what the average weight loss is like.  Most people fail and restart several times.  Most people on maintenance regain some if not all of their weight within 18 months of losing it. Been there, done that, wrote the blog post.

I’m not about mediocrity, folks.   And I’m guessing you’re not either. We’re all about reaching for the stars (or in this case the asterisks): *results not typical here we come!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

