Health Kick Chick

Join me on my laymen's journey towards better health. Eat. Move. Rest.

No cottage cheese, please

When I first started my weight loss journey, I decided that I’d eat real foods that I thoroughly enjoyed–even if it meant eating less of it.  But under no circumstances would that include my arch nemesis.

My memories of cottage cheese revolve around being an overweight tween and having diet books handed to me that always started off the suggested breakfast menu with the ever delicious combination of 1/2 c cottage cheese and hard boiled egg whites.  Blech!  What’s worse is my grandmother who I lived with always had it on hand and snuck it into everything from Ritz Cracker sandwiches to omlettes.  This runny mess and I always met against my will with it’s curds an ever-present reminder of what it meant in the 1980’s and early 1990’s to lose weight.

I like cottage’s more sophisticated Italian cousin ricotta and will gladly eat a variety of other cheeses with much delight.  But I just can’t stomach this hog food (I will put a pox upon the house of anyone who suggests that I eat more dairy and consider cottage cheese as a snack because “it tastes good”.  Liar!)

I’ve managed to cut calories by eating smaller portions, reduced fat or even fat free dairy when appropriate (but never cheese).  I’ve managed to lose weight and keep it off without eating foods that I don’t like or wouldn’t be able to eat for the rest of my life.  Including cottage cheese

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

