Health Kick Chick

Join me on my laymen's journey towards better health. Eat. Move. Rest.

Food tasting = Planning ahead

I’m so excited that today the Health Kick Chick will be participating in a food testing for Self Magazine’s Annual Food Awards. They’ve been very hush hush about which foods are nominated or even what we’ll be trying but you can bet your bottom dollar that tomorrow’s posting will have plenty of pics (if they allow me to).

Today I also have a ton of food based meetings because of cancellations this week due to snow. So, I have one early afternoon meeting in my favorite coffee shop (the one with all the decadent divine Germanic pastries), then one a little later at a French bistro. I top off my day with the food tasting.

So what’s my plan of attack? Well, my secret weapon is always to start off my day with an extremely filling breakfast. Today, that means steel cut oatmeal. Though I’m not a huge steel cut oatmeal fan, I bought a big tub ‘cuz it was all the rage and I bust it out whenever I need to be in foodcentric situations later on in the day. It keeps me full for a good 5 hours and you can’t beat that with a stick.

At my first meeting, I’m bypassing my usual order (unsweetened soy cappuchino and 1/2 cinammon roll…drool) for a big cup of peach tea with honey for minimal calorie damage.

Lunch is a slice of veggie pizza. I must be the only person I know that can stop at one slice. But then, I’m a pizza snob and my pizza’s got to be good–no Dominoes for me.

Second meeting is going to be either another cup of tea or a bowl of a broth-based soup like the Garden Vegetable or Tomato Basil Florentine. Both soups are pretty high in sodium and very filling, so I might pass them up if I think they’ll make me too full for the tasting.

At the tasting, I’m allotting all my weekly "bonus" calories just in case. I’ll probably be the only maniac keeping tabs of nutritional information so I can readjust as needed but I’ve got to stay on track.

I just got Jari Love’s "Get Ripped" in the mail today from Netflix, so I’ll definitely give that a shot. It won’t undo my day but at least it’ll get my heart pumping.

So, a with a little bit of pre-planning I can make sure that my new week starts off successfully.

Back tomorrow with a review of Jari Love’s vid and pictures from the tasting šŸ™‚

2 Comments»

  Alexandra wrote @

I don’t have high standards, regarding pizza, so I’m a bit envious of your ability to stop at just one slice.

Looking forward to reading more about the food testing!

  Health Kick Chick wrote @

Ah, trust me Alexandra, when you taste really good pizza you’ll *never* go back šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

